Welcome to the first of several lists I’m planning on putting together to celebrate the year in film that was 2014. Thanks to my handy film diary, my job will be easier than ever. This is a new thing I’m doing this year where I list my “Top 10 Film Discoveries of 2014.” Now what is a “film discovery” you may be asking? Well, simply put, it can be a film that’s been on my bucket list for an extensive period of time that I finally got around to watching this year. These are classic films, cult flicks and basically anything retro. So in other words, 2014 films do not count. It’s a very eclectic list (and the only time that you’ll find THE TREE OF LIFE and GODZILLA VS. THE SMOG MONSTER on the same list, I can guarantee you) and without any further adieu, it is as follows…

My Top 10 Film Discoveries of 2014

1. THE SEVENTH CONTINENT (1989) – directed by Michael Haneke
2. REPULSION (1965) – directed by Roman Polanski
3. LIPS OF BLOOD (1975) – directed by Jean Rollin
4. THE TREE OF LIFE (2011) – directed by Terrence Malick
5. BAD LIEUTENANT (1992) – directed by Abel Ferrera
6. SALO, OR THE 120 DAYS OF SODOM (1975) – directed by Pier Paolo Pasolini
7. THE MAN WHO FELL TO EARTH (1976) – directed by Nicolas Roeg
8. BLADE RUNNER (1982) – directed by Ridley Scott
9. THE MADAGASCAR TRILOGY (2005-2012) – directed by Eric Darnell & Tom McGrath & Conrad Vernon
10. GODZILLA VS. THE SMOG MONSTER (1971) – directed by Yoshimitsu Banno

Leave a Reply

