I’m going straight edge…

Posted: December 18, 2013 in Personal Updates
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

It’s never too early to start making good on a New Years resolution you had planned for 2014.

As of today, I will be going straight edge.

That means no smoking (which I don’t do anyway), no drinking and no recreational drugs. In the case of the latter two I have no moral objections to anybody using them and especially in the case of recreational drugs, I happen to believe they should all be legalized and I would still soon as take medicinal marijuana over anything Big Pharma has to offer.

What I do object to, however, is the effect both have had on me this year.

Contrary to whatever impression you may have of me as someone who’s flamboyant, “zen” or otherwise happy, I often go through very deep bouts of depression where I sometimes cry for no reason, get irritable for even stupider reasons and sometimes even get suicidal. Alcohol and drugs only seem to exasperate these feelings resulting in my work, my relationships and my general outlook on life being negatively affected.

I plan on working very hard to overcome these aspects in my life and as of now that will be done with a healthy lifestyle which will include my vegan diet, yoga, exercise and some new ventures to stimulate my creativity.

What it won’t include is drugs and alcohol.

Thank you all for your understanding.

Leave a Reply

