We’re literally three weeks to the day when production on EROTICIDE begins and I can’t wait!

I’m also cautiously optimistic about the shoot as I’ve been down this road before with the AMY’S IN THE ATTIC feature back in 2011 only for plans to fall through.

However, things have been going extremely smoothly so far. Almost too smoothly.

Auditions came and went and I was very fortunate to find three incredible actors who will be bringing my story to life. Our first script read-through/discussion takes place on Tuesday and from there we’ll schedule some rehearsals leading up to the production.

One thing I ought to point out, is that because two of our leads are francophone, I’ve had to make a slight adjustment to the script.

One of my biggest pet peeves about films and in particular, Quebec films, is when actors are forced to speak a language that clearly isn’t their mother tongue. You see this all the time at SPASM or Fantasia, where you have these flicks starring francophone actors who are speaking in English just to make the film more “marketable” to the States. The irony of course is that a lot of these films are made by separatist filmmakers who hate anything to do with English, but don’t seem to mind appropriating our language when they want to make a buck.

But I digress.

Since it is absolutely imperative to the success of EROTICIDE that audiences are emotionally invested in the story 100%, I can’t have anything that could possibly distract them from this experience. That’s why I decided that Ian and Liz (or rather, Yan and Elise, as they’ve been rechristened) will be speaking in French to each other during the film. They will only break into English whenever they interact with Kendra (who’s played by an anglophone actress). That way, when audiences hear Yan or Elise speaking with a French accent, they will accept this because we have established from the get-go, that these characters are in fact francophone and would obviously speak with an accent when conversing in English.

The best part about this is now I’ll finally get to have a “un film de Matthew Saliba” credit at the beginning of the film! 😉

My beautiful and amazing wife, Andree-Anne is handling the honors of translating 3/4 of the script into French. The question now becomes, what credit do I give her on the film? Should she get a co-writer credit? Or just a translator credit? What do you guys think?

Besides that, we’ve finally locked down a restaurant for our big restaurant scene. We’ll be shooting at one of my favorite places in Montreal – Burritoville!

Burritoville - Best Vegan / Vegetarian Restaurant in Montreal!

Burritoville – Best Vegan / Vegetarian Restaurant in Montreal!

The best part of shooting here is that they’re closed on Sundays. So instead of shooting two overnight shoots as we originally planned, we’re going to combine both nights into one typical 12-14 hour all-day shoot. I think it’s safe to say that the cast and crew are very happy with that development, as am I.

Besides the script translation, I’m currently working on the shot-list for the film. I plan to re-watch three films that have greatly influenced me in terms of the look I’m going for in EROTICIDE. These films include: David Lynch’s LOST HIGHWAY, which I recently had the pleasure of watching on the big screen in 35mm at Cinema du Parc, Lars Von Trier’s ANTICHRIST and Michael Haneke’s AMOUR, which I’m going to see tonight at the Dollar Cinema in 35mm.

With an amazing DP like Kamel Khalifa and a cast to die for in Jocelin Haas, Stephanie Van Rijn and Lisa Di Capa, I’m more than confident that EROTICIDE will turn out to be my masterpiece.

Leave a Reply

