The EROTICIDE pre-production train has just left the station!

Met with my Co-Producer / Director of Photography where we sat down to discuss the script and the look for the film. We’re aiming for a cross between Michael Haneke’s AMOUR and Lars Von Trier’s ANTICHRIST. How can you possibly get a look that combines two wildly different aesthetics? Stay tuned! 🙂

We also worked out a shooting schedule for the film and it looks like if all goes well, EROTICIDE will be shot over a period of two weekends (May 4-5 and 11-12) as well as an overnight shoot on either April 26th or May 17th, depending on how quickly we can cast the film, find crew, locations etc.

My Co-Producer / Director of Photography’s name is Kamel Khalifa, and if the name sounds familiar, it should, because he was the D.O.P. on my last film AMY’S IN THE ATTIC. I’m thrilled to be working with him again and quite honestly, it’s thanks to him that this film is even happening.

Kamel was one of my grooms at my wedding and at the reception, he among a few others confronted me in a corner and basically held an “intervention” of sorts on my then “retirement” from filmmaking. He had made an offer to provide full access to film and sound equipment should I ever feel compelled to write a new screenplay.

EROTICIDE was an idea I had kicking around for a couple years now and until Kamel came along, this was probably going to turn into a novel. Well, an unfinished one at least, since the most I’d ever gotten written was “Chapter One.”

But between Kamel and my Executive Producer, there was really no excuse for me to not wrestle these demons out of me and turn them into the bleakest and most personal story I’ve ever written.

***

Cast and Crew call!

I’m currently looking to fill the following positions:

– Camera Operator (we’ll be shooting on a Canon 5D Mark II)

– Assistant Camera

– Production Manager / Assistant Director

– Continuity

– Drivers

– Production Assistants

I’ve sent out some feelers to people I’ve worked with in the past, but it can’t hurt to keep my options open.

Same thing goes for cast. I’m going to wait to see how this weekend goes before officially holding auditions. I’m meeting with a couple of actors who I hope will fit these characters like gloves. But again, when you’re an indie filmmaker, you not only better have a plan B, but a plan B through Z!

BTW: Very important that anyone interested in working on EROTICIDE should know that as is usually the case with indie short films, this will be an unpaid gig. This executive producer I keep referring to is only investing a “security blanket” in the form of a couple thousand dollars to pay for additional equipment, food, etc. So please keep this in mind when applying.

Leave a Reply

