Just had my first official production meeting for EROTICIDE with my executive producer. What’s that? An executive producer on an indie short film? And a real one to boot, not someone sharing this credit with 120 other people who donated a couple bucks via Kickstarter?

Yes indeed!

I hooked up with my executive producer through a play I wrote and had produced back in June 2012 entitled DEATH SPARES NOT THE WICKED. He wanted to bankroll a second run of the show and so we aimed for the 2013 Fringe Festival here in Montreal. Unfortunately, we didn’t get in, but due to the “lottery system” they use to choose plays, we ended up being 46th on the waiting list. Yeah, somehow I don’t think we’re going to get in.

But he really wanted to collaborate with me on a creative project and once he made it clear that I had a “carte blanche” as far as what project I could do, I figured why not pitch EROTICIDE to him.

At the time, the script hadn’t even been written yet and was solely a jumble of scattered ideas. But that was evidently enough to convince him that I was a creative talent worth investing in and that was all he needed to put some coin behind a Sinema Saliba production.

I ought to point out for any potential cast and crew members reading this, that by “coin” I don’t mean to imply there’s thousands of dollars going into this production.

One of the reasons why I was able to convince him to invest in my film was because of my co-producer / Director of Photography who has access to free film and sound equipment (including a Canon 5D Mark II camera). So what would have otherwise cost my executive producer a good $10,000, will now only set him back a quarter of that amount as the money he’s putting into the film, is basically serving as a safety net for things like renting  a dolly, or an extra light kit and for miscellaneous costs such as craft, hair and make-up, special effects, cab fare (in case we go late), etc.

But either way, I don’t have to put a cent of my own money into this, which means my only priority is creativity, and I can’t even begin to tell you how liberating that feels for an indie filmmaker.

***

Already proud to announce that I may have my cast locked down for the film!

I don’t want to name names just yet since in the case of two of the actors, I’m having them come in to read for their respective roles, but if all goes well, the potential cataclysmic nightmare that would be trying to cast an unbelievable dark and gut-wrenching film like this, will have been averted.

The male protagonist, in particular, is going to provide the most trouble as he not only goes through one hell of an emotional roller-coaster, but throughout the third act, he’s completely nude! Now, I’m not necessarily aiming for full-frontal nudity per se. But there’s the strong possibility of certain “appendages” getting caught on camera and given the tone of the screenplay, I’m not looking to compromise the realism I’m aiming for and don’t want to be hampered by restrictions on where I can place the camera or on any actions that this character would naturally do in such a situation.

These readings are scheduled to take place at the end of this coming week, so if all goes well, by the end of Easter weekend, I will have found the bravest, most open-minded actors I have ever worked with and we can start rehearsing.

***

And finally, I sometimes get people commenting on my blog entries from time to time, but today was something special.

I logged onto my account and noticed I had a comment pending approval for my entry entitled, “The EROTICIDE screenplay has officially been completed!”

Lo and behold, it was from none other than legendary indie filmmaker, Albert Pyun who had this to say to me:

 

Congratulations Matthew. Completing a screenplay is no small achievement. Believe me I know the challenge and know hundreds who never finished their screenplays. So the mere fact of seeing the process through and having the discipline and determination to get it done is a success.

Now you begin the next step which is no harder but requires a widening group of challenges.

Best,

The bad “pun” Albert Pyun.

 

Can you believe this? I couldn’t at first. Until I realized that why would someone pretend to be Albert Pyun and write me this message? Of course, once I realized it was him, and that he took the time to write such an encouraging message to me, I felt like such a heel for referring to him as a “bad pun.” I always meant it in a facetious sense, but still, I felt pretty bad about it.

So on the chance that he may be reading this, thank you very much for your kind and inspiring words and rest assured, I thought your version of CAPTAIN AMERICA was far more entertaining than the recent one. 🙂

Comments
  1. Albert Pyun says:

    No worries Matthew. I completely understood the context of the statement. The important thing your blog does is give you a chance to express what’s going on inside you with the world as you travel the filmmaker’s road. It’s a surprisingly lonely path with many more nay sayers and doubters than champions. Your blog gives you a chance to get your own doubts and frustrations out which is its best aid to you. The important thing to remember with this process is getting a draft finished is really that now you have something you can re-write. That’s where, like after a film is shot, where the real work begins. So enjoy the achievement but then start editing and refining your words and ideas. Having worked with gifted screen writers like Ronald Shusett (Alien, Total Recall), David Goyer (Blade, Dark Knight, Dark City) and John Stockwell (Blue Crush, Into the Blue), you now writer what is the most satisfying process of perfecting your work Tried to have your script read by your friends and co-workers, and really hear their comments.

    Albert Pyun

Leave a Reply

