The EROTICIDE screenplay has officially been completed!

Posted: March 23, 2013 in All Things EROTICIDE
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Ladies and gentlemen, the screenplay to my new film EROTICIDE has officially been completed!

It’s taken me a very long time to put this story to paper. It’s by far my most personal film to date and one that will certainly raise a lot of questions and stir a lot of controversy upon its release. But to finally have gotten this out of my system is a relief that’s beyond description really.

My wife was the first person to read it and afterwards, she actually broke down and cried over how bleak and depressing it was. My reaction to this was twofold. As an artist, I couldn’t have been more thrilled. I’ve never written anything that truly spoke to someone on such a deep and profound level before and for this to affect a reader the way it did, was one of the greatest, if not, greatest creative accomplishment of mine to date. On the other hand, she’s my wife and I’m her husband, and I hate to make her cry. So obviously I consoled her after the fact. ๐Ÿ˜‰

As far as what the film isย about. I’ve been keeping rather mum about that and will continue to do so until we’re well into pre-production. But suffice it to say, it’s a definitive statement on a subject that’s rather close to my heart. It’s definitely the bleakest thing I’ve ever written, something I’m very proud of. I watch films like IRREVERSIBLE and MARTYRS and just admire the filmmakers for truly portraying worlds in which there is zero hope for salvation or redemption without compromising their vision or resorting to softening the blow at the end. I have to confess that even with a film like AMY’S IN THE ATTIC, which some consider my darkest film, I had to include some kind of humor to remind audiences that this is just a movie and we shouldn’t take this too seriously.

That won’t be the case with EROTICIDE. This film is dark, depressing and very much rooted in realism. I actually got teary eyed while writing the third act, which is definitely the most brutal. My only hope is to find a strong enough (and open-minded) cast who will bring this story to life and take audiences on the emotional journey that I went on while writing it.

So with the script in the can, it’s on to our first official production meeting next week. I’m meeting up with Kamel Khalifa (my Director of Photography / Co-Producer) to discuss the script and the logistics of getting this done. Once we finalize shooting dates, it’s full-speed ahead into pre-production and all the stress and horrors that entails. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Stay tuned to this blog as it will basically serve as the EROTICIDE production diary and will probably be updated more often than when I was using it as a platform to rant about movies.

Comments
  1. Albert Pyun says:

    Congratulations Matthew. Completing a screenplay is no small achievement. Believe me I know the challenge and know hundreds who never finished their screenplays. So the mere fact of seeing the process through and having the discipline and determination to get it done is a success.

    Now you begin the next step which is no harder but requires a widening group of challenges.

    Best,

    The bad “pun” Albert Pyun.

    • Thank you very much! And if you are, in fact, the real Albert Pyun, I can’t tell you what an honour it is that you took the time to write me this encouraging message. I’ve been making indie films for 10 years now and it’s independent filmmakers like you who inspire me to keep going.

      P.S. I’m just kidding around about the “bad pun.” Your version of CAPTAIN AMERICA was way more entertaining than the recent one. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

