Yours Truly on the set of Philippe Bourret's FIRST NIGHT. Photo taken by Eric Bourret.

Yours Truly on the set of Philippe Bourret’s FIRST NIGHT. Photo taken by Eric Bourret.

 

Hey guys! It’s been a long time since I last updated my blog, but it’s been for good reason. Very good reasons actually.

For starters, I have a brand new job working full-time as a writer and video editor for an e-marketing firm based in NDG. It’s a field in the film industry that I never dreamed of working in while in school, but it seems like all the professional gigs I get as far as paid film work goes, seem to fall under this banner and quite truthfully, I really don’t mind. When you consider that 3/4 of graduates in Communication Studies, Film Production, Film Studies, etc. usually end up working in retail, call centers or restaurants, I consider myself quite fortunate to have found a job in which I work Monday to Friday, 9am to 5pm, getting paid to be creative. I’ve been keeping fairly mum on the content that I work on at my job, but longtime searchers of work in video editing, particularly in Montreal, will be able to read between the lines and recognize what “e-marketing” really stands for. 😉

Secondly, I was cast as the male lead in a short film by director Philippe Bourret entitled FIRST NIGHT. It’s a drama with a bit of an exploitation film motif in which I play an evil cop who’s leading a revolution of sorts against the world. I was on set for five of the six days of shooting and I have to say that while there were tense moments from time to time, all in all, it was one of the best shoots I can ever remember being a part of. Right up there, if not higher than my first experience in a lead role (ZOOM LENS way back in 2005-2006). Phil was very generous and open to suggestions as evident by the many improvised monologues he allowed me to come up with and the cast and crew were second to none, many of whom I plan on asking to be a part of my next film.

And speaking of which, yes I will be shooting a new film, just in time to commemorate the 10th anniversary of Sinema Saliba. For as long as I can remember, I’ve been hyping that the “Seventh Sin by Saliba” entitled EROTICIDE was in the works, only for the hype to die just as quickly due to me not having the time to develop the project. But being on set of FIRST NIGHT really inspired me to get off my ass and finally put pen to paper and get this script done. Well, with the exception of the last couple of scenes, I’m proud to announce that I’m on the verge of finally completing the EROTICIDE screenplay. Once we’re officially ready to enter pre-production (which I’m hoping will be in April), I plan on creating a Facebook and Twitter account which will provide you with all the info you’ll need to know in order to follow my latest cinematic exploits. I must say that I’m quite proud of the screenplay as it’s by far, the most honest and bleak material I’ve ever written. Perhaps a bit too much so, which is why it’s been taking me so long to finish it. But the fact that I was able to secure financial backing AND a free film equipment sponsorship from two generous producers who haven’t even seen a finished screenplay, is enough incentive for me to go through with this. Casting should begin in April with a shoot planned for late-April/early-May.

So where does this leave the blog? Well, if nothing else, it should shortly turn into the official EROTICIDE “making-of” blog where I plan on posting updates on a more regular basis. Sort of an expansion on the FB and Twitter accounts. I haven’t had much time to go to the theaters and catch any new films. When I’ve found time, I’ve been watching a few films I recently picked up on DVD, including the surprisingly entertaining and well-done PSYCHO quadrilogy. Hands up, how many people knew that not only was there a sequel to the Hitchcock classic but three of them, including a made-for-TV prequel directed by mother lover, Mick Garris. I also had a chance to rediscover Brian de Palma’s BLOW-OUT, featuring a pre-crazy John Travolta starring as a heroic sound guy. If there was ever an American film that truly captured the Giallo asesthetics of Argento and company, it’s this film. Pino Donaggio’s score really helps too. I am hoping to find time to check out Park Chan-Wook’s English-language debut STOKER. You might stay I’m stoked to see it. 😉

So for those of you who do read this blog on a regular basis, I thank you for your patience with my frequent lack of updates. When I wasn’t working and/or had little interest in re-entering the glamorous world of unpaid indie filmmaking, I had all the time in the world to write eloquent film reviews on a somewhat daily basis. But now that I’ve found my “second wind,” if you will, I find myself living life with a renewed sense of vigor and now I want to be out there creating art in addition to consuming it. That doesn’t mean, I won’t be contributing to this blog, but when I do, it will most likely be updates on how my latest project is doing.

Hope you’ll enjoy following me on my latest filmmaking adventure! 🙂

Leave a Reply

