I’m back and I’m married! Also, new script on the way!

Posted: September 28, 2012 in Personal Updates
Tags: , , , ,

It’s been a while but I’m happy to say that THE CELERY STALKS AT MIDNIGHT is back and open for business again! I’ll try my best to keep this blog updated on a more regular basis. I’m also going to try to make this blog a little less formal than it’s been. Upon reading some of my earlier posts, I can’t help but feel this is one of those things that started to slip away from me and turn into something I hadn’t planned on this site becoming. There’s far too many blogs out there with reviewers pontificating for words on end about their favorite movies, books and what have you. This was originally conceived as being a venue for me to express my thoughts and feelings on a plethora of topics while giving you, the reader, some insight into who Matthew Saliba, the filmmaker is. And I plan on doing just that, beginning with this piece.

Well, as you may or may not know, I got married! On Saturday, September 22nd, 2012, I married the love and the light of my life, Andree-Anne Forgues in front of our closest friends and family at the Pine Beach Park Gazebo in Dorval, Quebec. When we booked the venue almost one year ago, we did it under the assumption, nay, hope that the weather would be pitch perfect. Suffice it to say, it wasn’t. But with everyone attempting to reassure us that rain on a wedding equals good luck, we were able to look past the miserable weather and realize that we were taking our relationship to the utmost level and that was what we ought to be concentrating on.

Now, onto the bigger question, why did I get married? Truth be told, I really never thought I ever would. But if there’s one thing in life that I’ve learned and continue to learn to this very day, it’s that it’s easy to have an opinion when you don’t stand to have it challenged. In other words, until two and a half years ago, it was very easy for me to say I would never get married because up until I met Andree-Anne, I never met anyone or was in any kind of serious relationship that I could ever envision evolving into marriage. The closest thing to a “relationship” I had at the time was being my ex’s dirty little secret that she would toy around with whenever she was bored with her boyfriend. I could never imagine myself ever having any kind of real relationship where someone would actually be proud to be with me and love me as much as I would love her.

But when Andree-Anne came into my life, everything changed. My perspective on life, love, women, relationships, everything was irrevocably changed, and for the better. Andree-Anne is truly a remarkable woman. She’s beautiful, intelligent, funny, adorable, an amazing cook, an imaginative and awe-inspiring lover and best of all, someone who loves and supports me unconditionally and having never experienced this kind of thing in a relationship before, I knew right away that this was the person I wanted to spend the rest of my life with. I could see myself marrying her, starting a family with her, growing old with her and passing on to whatever may lie for us when our time on Earth is over with her. She is my soul mate, my confidant, my best friend and now she is my wife and I couldn’t be happier.

People ask me has life changed since getting married. To be honest, not necessarily. I suppose back in the proverbial “old days” marriage meant moving in together for the first time and in many cases, having sex for the first time too so there was a very obvious feeling of change when two people would get married. Andree-Anne and I, on the other hand, were well versed in the ways of love and living together by the time we tied the knot. Hell, we lived together in my old 1 1/2 apartment early on in our relationship and managed NOT to kill each other. That’s how we knew it was true love! 😉

So while there’s been no obvious change in the relationship, there’s been some subtle ones. There’s a level of commitment and seriousness to our relationship that is undeniably the result of having gotten married. Not to take anything away from unmarried couples, but marriage just seems to be the next logical step in the evolution of one’s love for one’s partner. It just seems to make things more “official.” I also feel a profound sense of pride in referring to “my wife” in conversation. The ring on my finger serves as a daily reminder that my quest for true love is at an end but not to take that love for granted. So while my quest to find my soul mate has reached its climax, my new journey of maintaining and sustaining the love that binds us together has only just begun and will continue for the rest of our lives.

Anyway, the wedding ceremony was a big success as was the reception dinner. There were plenty of lovely speeches by friends and family members but the one thing that was made abundantly clear by everyone in attendance, other than how happy they were for us was the desire for me to get off my ass and make another film.

The last time I shot anything was back in the Fall of 2009 when I directed a segment for OUR FOOTLOOSE REMAKE, an anthology-style project composed of scenes from the original FOOTLOOSE directed by filmmakers from around the world, or mostly from Los Angeles. 2010 was mostly spent in post-production on AMY’S IN THE ATTIC, 2011 was spent writing the AMY’S IN THE ATTIC feature with the idea that we were going to shoot in the Fall and 2012 would have been when I would be touring with the feature. Obviously things didn’t pan out, so it seems like there’s been a long gap between projects for me when in reality, it’s only been about a year as the AMY’S IN THE ATTIC short was touring the festival circuit throughout 2011.

I’ve gone on record as saying that I’ve “retired” from making movies; the question of whether you can really “retire” from a hobby notwithstanding. Between crippling financial problems and the emotional toll of working with people who don’t really want to be there, the prospect of shooting another film hasn’t been one I’ve terribly been looking forward to. However, that doesn’t mean I’ve never stopped thinking about ideas for future projects. I’ve had this one story floating around that I was planning to turn into a novel. And while that would have been an interesting challenge, let’s face it, I grew up on film, I love film, I love telling stories, I love the “fame” that comes with touring with a film and being interviewed and reading reviews of my work and above it all, I love being a filmmaker. That’s what I am through and through.

To have so many people come up to me and ask me when am I going to make another film and how I shouldn’t let my talents go to waste and what a “crime against humanity” it would be to do so really made me rethink whether I may have been a little hasty in claiming that my moviemaking days were behind me. That said, there is the pragmatic reality of things to take into consideration. I don’t have any money to make another movie. Nor do I have any wish to collaborate with people whose first question when they arrive on set is when can they leave. But there may be some hope. I was informed by one of my grooms who also served as my DP on AMY’S IN THE ATTIC about how I would have access to FREE cameras and lights and potentially an editing suite. Free, you say? A very intriguing prospect indeed. And certainly one that would lower the costs of making a film considerably. Granted, there’s no such thing as a “free film” but if my only costs would involve catering, some SFX and other miscellaneous things, I could see myself pulling off another self-produced project. Or better yet, pitching one to a would-be producer.

At any rate, there’s a reason for me to boot up my copy of FINAL DRAFT 7 and get cracking on this story that I’ve been dying to write for some time now. Where this will all lead, I can’t say, but I have an idea, I’ll eventually have a script. I have the equipment and a DP. And perhaps by the end of 2013, I’ll have a new film. 🙂

#SinemaSaliba2013

Comments
  1. mistylayne says:

    Awww, your wifey is a lucky lady. This was incredibly touching (and gives me hope because I have said for years I’ll never get married ;)). Can’t wait to see what kind of movie you make and would love to see previous works, if you’ll point me in the right direction!

  2. Thanks a lot! 🙂 I can always send you some screeners if you’d be interested in reviewing them. Get in touch with me on FB and we’ll work something out. 🙂

  3. mistylayne says:

    Found you on FB but I can’t message you or send you a friend add or anything. Feel free to send me an email at cinemaschminema at gmail dot com. Would love to review for my site. And thanks! 🙂

Leave a Reply

