Who are you? What are you? Who moved the rock?

Posted: July 30, 2012 in Personal Updates
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Welcome to the official blog of Matthew Saliba – Award-Winning Filmmaker / Freelance Writer for Exploitation Retrospect / Social Media Representative & Freelance Writer for Rogue Cinema / Soon-to-be-Husband / Cat-Lover / Vegan!

Yet in spite of all those tags, I’d venture to say that a lot of you probably have no idea who I am. I say that because almost without fail, even people whom I consider to be some of my closest friends either view me as a misogynist sadist who masturbates in his own feces or as a textbook case of a schizophrenic given my ability to go from making films about pinning a woman’s face to a wall via a bow-and-dildo to showering my adorable little kitties with love and attention.

Now, I’d like to think that people are capable of separating an artist from his art and realize that there’s more to me than meets the eye but then again that would be expecting people to think before they speak and the gulf between those who and don’t do the latter is a vast one indeed.

But then again, perhaps I shouldn’t blame some people who aren’t able to distinguish the “real me” as truth be told, I don’t have a history of opening up to people and revealing some of my deepest thoughts and desires. My interests in life vary from film, music and literature to politics, religion and food. I have a lot of things to say about a lot of different topics and I plan on using this forum in the grand tradition of self-indulgent bloggers to pontificate on said issues. It’s my hope that people will gain some better insight into who I am and what exactly it is, I stand for.

Now don’t get me wrong. While I plan on writing a lot of “heavy issue” articles, there will be plenty of silliness to indulge in as well. I think as people discovered with my recent play, DEATH SPARES NOT THE WICKED, I have a black as midnight on a moonless night sense of humor and plan on letting that show through my writing. As I also mentioned, I have two adorable little kitties named Munchkin and Quagmire and will be posting pictures and videos of them doing “cat stuff” from time to time.

I’m also about to be married to a woman who has really come to redefine who I am as a human being. Her name is Andrée-Anne Forgues and I plan on writing many pieces about her, including how we met, how her undying love and support for me has “saved me” both metaphorically and literally and what our wedding will mean to me.

So there you have it folks. An introductory piece about yours truly and what to expect on here. I’m currently covering the 2012 Fantasia International Film Festival so my entries on here won’t be as frequent for the next week and a half. But once the festival ends, I plan on updating this blog on a daily basis.

Thanks for reading and may the seed of your loin be fruitful in the belly of your woman!

Comments
  1. Spooky Sean says:

    Well, let’s face it, there’s a reason people think you are a certain way.
    If you’re anything like me, you are promoting your work more than yourself, and as such, people see more of the work than you. Because, you aren’t trying to pimp the you. If you were, you’d be one of those obnoxious bloggers, who literally just blogs about their cats, and what they had for lunch, and what they think of bus rides, or some such nonsense.
    I would not be surprised at all if people thought I was a rapist-murderer-satanist-cannibal, based on some of the outlandishness to be found in my work, on my blog, and my incredibly morbid, sarcastic sense of humor.
    It never fails to make me giggle, when you meet say a Jack Ketchum, or a Ruggero Deodato, and they are super nice and friendly. And that’s me fully admitting to preconceived notions about artists based around their subject material, despite the fact I am a horror author, hence should fucking know better! I mean, it’s not like i expected them to stab me on the spot, but I figured they might at least be kind of moody or something, and it’s always the exact opposite. I would wager most in the horror genre are nicer than those found in any other.

    • LOL Oh I know that. It’s just when personal friends start coming up to me and calling me “schizophrenic” because I’m being lovey-dovey with my fiancee or playing happily with my cats, that’s when I felt it may be time to put the “Matthew Saliba” persona on hold for a bit and actually reveal that I’m not that bad a guy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

